Feb. 17, 2000
Vol. 19 No. 10

current issue
archive / search

    AAAS will honor four fellows from University

    Three University faculty members and a Hospitals administrator recently have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science: Susan Coppersmith, Martin Feder, Ralph Muller and George Tolley.

    The association cited Coppersmith, Professor in Physics and the James Franck Institute, for her “theoretical studies of complex systems in condensed matter, including charge-density waves, ordering transitions, conduction and glassy dynamics.“

    Feder, Professor in Organismal Biology & Anatomy and the Committee on Evolutionary Biology, was cited by the AAAS for his “research on comparative physiology, physiological ecology and the evolution of stress responses.“

    Noted for developing “innovative ambulatory-care facilities that have become a national standard of care,“ Muller, President and Chief Executive Officer of the University Hospitals & Health System, also earned high praise for his “outstanding administrative leadership in tertiary-care and hospital-care delivery.“

    Tolley, Professor in Economics, earned distinction for his “distinguished contributions to the field of land and water use policy and public and urban economics.“

    Among 283 new fellows this year, Chicago’s honorees will be presented with official certificates and rosette pins Saturday, Feb. 19, at the fellows forum of the 2000 AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C.